RSS Feed

Baseball Returns

Posted on

 

YankeeStadium

Here we go again! It’s baseball season, and all I can do is grumble. You’d think I was a Mets fan, or that my team was any one of a number of basement dwellers, the way I feel. I’m a Yankee fan, I’m supposed to be on top of the world all the time—that’s what ol’ G. Steinbrenner demanded, win the World Series every year or you’re losers. Okay, that, I think, went a little too far in wrecking morale. Still, he may have been a tyrant, but what’s gone on since Georgie’s demise is a nightmare.

As the 2014 season opens, I am facing the loss of Mariano Rivera (gracefully retired), Andy Pettite (ditto), Curtis Granderson (sold to the Mets by some moron in the Yankee org) and Robinson Cano (also moronically sold). Even outside of the Yankees I face a heavy loss: Barry Zito, former Oakland A and SF Giant, one of my favorite players and human beings, seems to have vanished after the Giants failed to renew his contract (and who could blame them? But that’s another story.Zito2012

 

 

 

DerekJeter

Last but not least, as we raise the curtain on another year of baseball, the one Yankee remaining on the team that saw its last period of glory during the late ’90s and early ’00s, Derek Jeter, announced this year as his Swan Song—so don’t bother shouting “Next year!” if things hit bottom. And, indeed, the guys lost their first game yesterday against one of my most hated teams, the F.O.B. (Friends of Bush) Houston Astros.

My allegiance to the New York Yankees is, like some people’s allegiance to a particular religion, by birth and by choice. I’m a Yankee fan by birth: I was born in the Bronx. But I chose to be a Yankee fan because in this one area of life, unlike politics and a few others I’ll decline to mention here, with the Bronx Bombers I get to be a winner more often than not. Unlike the hapless Met fan, I get to experience joy more frequently than pain. At least, that was the deal for decades. Now my Yankee fandom is going the way the aging experience goes: it’s all about loss, as beloved players and managers leave. No choice have I but to butch it out and adjust, the way I do over the loss of teeth and energy.

One thing I don’t have to lose, though, is hope: the Yankees might be great this year. As the little kid in Angels in the Outfield says of the improbable all throughout the movie, “Hey, it could happen!”

rivera-patch

 

So Play Ball!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

 

2 responses »

  1. Barry Zito, ah. I don’t know how to make a link to this, but an issue of TIME this year, maybe in Jan or Feb, featured a move to teach mindfulness in SF schools, and a photo of the iconic presences in a school full of meditating students and faculty included David Lynch, Russell Brand and …BARRY ZITO!! So just maybe like a recent drop-out from the Broncos, he’s found an even more meaningful career path. I don’t know. Just suggesting.

  2. Juanita, I don’t worry about Barry enjoying his life with or without baseball: he has a lot of other interests, including meditation and yoga, and playing guitar. He’s rumored to be a deep guy, so you’re right, he probably will find more meaning. My complaint is that I won’t get to see him out there, mumbling to himself while he executes a pitch, with his fabulous form— especially his high kick!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 508 other followers