RSS Feed

My Woodstock

Posted on

Joni sexy

My Woodstock
(with apologies to Joni Mitchell)

I fell in with a fugitive
who was running from his family.
And I asked him where are you going
and this he told me:
He said I’m going to the country
I’m going to hide out on the land
I won’t pay child support
or alimony.

We were outlaws.
We were mothers.
We were writers, we were hippiesjoni_songbookevent
and musicians.

Then can I please go with you?
I will pay my way and yours
and we’ll take my kids up with us
to Utopia.
It’s time for me to start to live
and it is the Time of Woman
and I don’t know who I amJoni behind bars
or how I got here.

We were outlaws.
We were hippies.
We were feminists
musicians and writers.

By the time we hitched to Woodstock
we were sick and tired and broke
and the rents began to rise
with all the tourists.
So the hippies opened chachka shops
and they gave the writers jobs.
The musicians
and the feminists got married.

Some outlaws fled to Berkeley
and some got thrown in jail
but me I just kept pounding
on a typewriter.
So now I am a senior

Marcy in Woodstock

Marcy in Woodstock

at an age they say is golden
and I do not have
a single pot to piss in.

We were outlaws.
We were hippies.
We were feminists
musicians and writers.

One response »

  1. Great post, great imagery.

    I wanted to be there.

Leave a Reply

