RSS Feed

My Baby Rides the Short Bus

Posted on

Hot off the Press!
The anthology My Baby Rides the Short Bus is ready for pre-orders on Amazon.

Short Bus cover

This is something new in the world of disability writing–while I confess I haven’t seen it yet, their call for materials asked for stories from parents who feel like they don’t always fit in to disability organizations or support groups. You know what I mean–people who do sex writing, for instance, or live in communes, or in polyamorous arrangments–anything outside the mainstream. I’ll never forget the first time I went to a conference, surrounded by a very homogenous group of 300 middle-class people, terrified my grown kids might innocently blow my cover; I told people I wrote newsletters.

I’ve got two pieces in the book–one anonymous (so as not to publicly criticize the hard-working group described therein) and another that’s a version of My Friend Christine, on this blog. You can visit the book on facebook.

statue-of-lib-4

And if you’re anywhere near the Big Apple on Mothers Day, there’ll be a reading:

Mamabration
Sunday, May 10, 2009
6:00pm – 8:00pm
Bluestockings bookstore
172 Allen Street between Stanton and Rivington
New York, NY

Get down with these irreverent and thought-provoking mamas as they read and perform in celebration of motherhood:

Christen Clifford: a writer and performer who’s written for Nerve, Salon and Huffington Post. Her solo show BabyLove ran for three months off Broadway and was a critic’s pick in Time Out and New York magazine. She is married to writer McKenzie Wark and is the proud mother of Felix and Vera.

Ayun Halliday: author of four self-mocking memoirs, and a children’s book. She’s Chief Primatologist and sole staff member of the quarterly zine, The East Village Inky, as well as BUST magazine’s Mother Superior columnist. Ayun lives in Brooklyn with her husband, playwright Greg Kotis, and their increasingly well-documented children.okeefe-89

Tomasia Kastner: writer, performer and lyricist, she opened for Gil Scott-Heron, performed with Me’Shell N’DegeOcello and with Mos Def. Tomasia recently released an album entitled Death of the Fresh with DJ Stef-Eye.

Victoria Law: writer, mother, and photographer who works with incarcerated women nationwide. Her book Resistance Behind Bars: The Struggles of Incarcerated Women is based on stories of women in prison.

Jennifer Silverman: recovering journalist, mama of two rambunctious sons, agitator and co-editor of My Baby Rides the Short Bus. Her writing about mothering her son with autism has appeared in Hip Mama and off our backs, and the ‘zine version of Short Bus.

One response »

  1. Well, I’m impressed and wish I could be at the reading but I just might have to get the book. I do have time on my hands now!

Leave a Reply

