RSS Feed

Will We Gain Health Care but Lose Abortion?

Grrrr! My blood pressure is going sky high. To read the whole story, click on the first phrase below.

WASHINGTON – Catholic bishops have emerged as a formidable force in the health care overhaul fight, using their clout with millions of Catholics and working behind the scenes in Congress to get strong abortion restrictions into the House bill.

And now you can go do something about it, thanks to NARAL :

I’m pretty angry that the House passed an anti-choice measure that would essentially eliminate insurance coverage for abortion in the new system. Health reform is important, but no one should lose coverage in the new system.

I just signed a petition to Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid asking him to stand strong against a similar attack in the Senate. Will you add your name? The deadline is 12 noon (EST) on  Friday, November 13.

Stand up for women!

One response »

  1. Hi Marcy,
    I am so glad you came by “What Happened” and commented – I wrote back on my page, but wanted to come over and read what you wrote, and you completely beat me to my rant on the Catholic Church – OH MY GOD!

    This is “Christlike?” “Godlike?”Suspending services for the poor and homeless in Washington DC if they pass a pro Gay Marriage law? The Catholic Church is going to punish the poor and the homeless if same-sex couples are allowed to marry. I am going insane.

    Although, I hate to admit it, but my curiosity got the better of me, and I decided to tool around the world of the silly stupid FaceBook arena, but they have a few cool fan and comment sites:

    Drop Dobbs is one – and hey! Look who quit under all the pressure!
    Lots of stuff from Leftake.com, and a great new FB site called:
    ‘If you are against Gay Marriage, then don’t get one and shut the F**k up.”

    I had to join, although it is under a nom de plume. 🙂 One has to retain a shred of dignity in this Internet world of ours.

    I love your site and your postings – may I add you to my blogroll?

    Great to “meet” you,

    Take Care,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

