RSS Feed

Discovered Website

I have no idea what “Widdershins” means*(see below), but wanted to bring your attention to a newly discovered website by that name. Political posts with a radical feminist perspective. Expresses regrets that Hilary isn’t our Prez, and they’re more than cynical about Obama. I’ve put it into the place on my menu bar formerly reserved for the Huffington Post, which I eventually found to be somewhat shallow. Widdershins: if anyone knows what it means, let me know, and be sure to check it out.

A couple of Widdershins?

According to Wikipedia, Widdershins act “in a direction opposite to the usual”, and… contrary to the apparent course of the sun sixteenth century. It is cognate with the German language widersinnig, i.e., “against” + “sense”. The term “widdershins” was especially common in Lowland Scots, and was known in Scottish Gaelic as tuathal, or “left-hand-wise”. It uses the same root as tuath meaning “countryside”, originally “tribal-land”, “folk”, “people.”

5 responses »

  1. okhydrocephalussupport

    Ta Da! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Widdershins

    BTW, hope you don’t mind the random follow . . I was googling hydrocephalus, found a post on here, clicked around a bit, and decided to subscribe!

  2. Thanks for the pointer!

  3. okhydrocephalussupport

    Yeah, I have a link up to the Hydrocephalus Association in both that post, and on my links page. Those bracelets I posted about arent being sold by the Hydro Association, (though the HA does sell some bracelets as well.) That’s the Pediatric Hydrocephalus Foundation. It’s an entirely different association. They are newer/ smaller than the HA, but they’ve managed to accomplish a lot in the time they’ve been around. Also, I believe they do some things differently from the HA… but I think they’re both great sites, and both groups work really hard to spread awareness of hydrocephalus.

    Sorry for the bible-esque entry.. I tend to type a lot once I get going!

  4. A book by that name is on my bedside table… thanks for the definition. 🙂

  5. Great Post! How do you find your ideas? I find a few here and there looking at other blogs and my own day to day problems. Lately I have been trying random word searches on Google, you can find random words here, http://watchout4snakes.com (not my site). You just frame the search like this Powered by WordPress Random Word. It will bring up other peoples blogs to get inspiration from. Anyway this has a bit of a long post. I wish you well, thanks for the article.

    I don’t get my ideas from other people’s blogs. Rather, “I wake up in the mornin’/hold my head and pray for rain/I got a head full of ideas/ that are drivin’ me insane.”–MS

Leave a Reply

