RSS Feed

Birthday Blog

Posted on
Illumination of the Earth by the Sun on the da...

Image via Wikipedia

“The Spring Equinox now happens exclusively on March 20, but the Church officially and unvaryingly uses March 21.”

Who would’ve thought I’d be in solid agreement with the Catholic Church? I am pleased to see that someone still counts the day I was born as the first day of Spring. It used to vary between March 20th and 21st, but god help anyone who said Spring came on the 20th in my presence. I clung to the idea of my birthday bearing the distinction of being the first full day of Spring, no matter what.

Why should it be so important to me? Even as a kid I derived satisfaction from feeling special because of it, and I’d brag that, “I brought the flowers.” What an egomaniac.

The year of my birth also bodes well: 1946, the year WWII ended. It all made sense when, in my late 20’s, I had my chart done, and the astrologer told me my planetary lineup was “a perfect reflection” of the universe; whatever was going on with me was totally in sync with world events, as interpreted in the sky.

Well people, I’m here to say that what’s going on with me ain’t so grand, and we can all see what’s going on in the world. I woke up this morning thinking, “The end is coming. It really is the end.” The disasters and wars have speeded up, and I do believe apocalypse is on the way, if not already here. This is how it happens, according to every doomsday story I’ve ever read: more and more displaced people, more and greater struggle just to survive; the population dwindles, species disappear as new, more threatening species, materialize (killer bees, feral pigs) and finally time’s up for the  human species.

Not a great message for my birthday, or for Spring, or for any time.  The one thing I’ve stuck to my whole life long, though, is honesty.  I’m not about to change now.

So Happy Spring everyone. And, just as Jews on Yom Kippor say “May you have an easy fast” — May you have an easier time on the way out.

(For a dash of hope, read the related article, “Spring Equinox,” listed below, in which the blogger notes, “Isn’t it comforting to know that no matter what Man does on Earth some things just won’t ever change?”

One response »

  1. I didn’t realise that this year’s equinox was 20th until I came to do a bit of background reading for my post this morning. I did a bit of digging around and found that there is a scientific reason why it changes between the 20th and 21st but I got bogged down with it. I understand it’s something to do with the leap year being not quite 4 years long and so the sun is in a slightly different place in relation to the equator…and so on but like I said I got bogged down with it and don’t understand. But if it’s good enough for the church to be on the 21st then it’s good enough for me!

    Happy Spring 🙂

Leave a Reply

