RSS Feed

Wagging The bin Laden Dog

Posted on


1. Cynical View:

If you saw the movie Wag The Dog several years back, then you know what I’m talking about. In it, the US stages a phony war in a small obscure country to  distract attention from other, more sinister government doings.

I am not suggesting (or am I? I don’t trust anything the government tells us these days) that the capture and killing of bin Laden is a complete fabrication — but the “burial at sea” shortly thereafter has not inspired great confidence. I’m inclined to believe it did happen, but was timed; that it possibly could have been accomplished sooner; that for god knows what idiotic purpose the cowboys in charge manipulated and maneuvered and staged a Wag The Dog event.

2. Observation Mode:

I’m fascinated by all the young–really young–people out in the street celebrating. The 9/11 attacks and bin Laden loom larger in their lives than in those of us who’ve lived through so many other shattering world events and personal tragedies. I can’t pretend to understand what bin Laden’s death means to them, or how the constant threat of terrorist attacks has affected their lives. Hell, I can hardly understand what it all means to me. I just had to mention the Wag the Dog thing, though.

3. Optimistic view:

The strongest is never strong enough to be always the master, unless he transforms strength into right, and obedience into duty. Jean-Jacques Rousseau

Yesterday Uncle Sam transformed strength into right. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

