RSS Feed

Hello Goodbye: Life Is Eternal: Listen to the Music

 

 

Got up on the wrong side of the bed today, no mean feat considering that there’s only one side of my bed it’s possible to get out of. Within an hour I’d received an idiotic work-related email complaint. Unable to think of a single thing I felt willing to do in my grouchy mood, I clamped on my ear buds and went out in the freezing cold for a music walk.

Set the iPod on Shuffle and waited for a surprise. Got just what I wanted for starters—Amy Winehouse, my current heartthrob. A few more
songs down the road and the BeatlesHello Goodbye came on. The song has some intense associations for me, but today I swear I heard something new in it. I don’t see how it’s possible that I never before heard the chorus of “Hello-Goodbye” in the background while Paul sings up front, but it sounded brand new to me today. It made me smile.

It made me smile.

 


While I was still smiling and wondering how I’d never noticed part of a song I’ve heard at least ten million times, Carly Simon began singing Life is Eternaland love is immortal
and death is only a horizon…

 

I’m not feeling exactly good now, but there is a moral to the story–

 

Listen to the Music

To stay young
listen to the music of your youth:
it will tune you into yourself.

To stay young
listen to the music of today’s youth:
it will tune you into now.

To stay young
listen to the music of the centuries:
it will tune you into eternity.

To stay young
listen to the music.

Leave a Reply

